top of page

november: reading, watching, listening to...


HAPPY NOVEMBER!

I've gone through quite the revolution in my media in-take these days. I'm almost ashamed to admit that after a life long allegiance and daily evening indulgence (since inside my mothers womb) to the Young and The Restless (and subsequently the Bold and the Beautiful), I've completely given it up (with only the occasional relapse). Its not that I'm ashamed of admitting to watching Y&R. NEVER. I mean, I still miss Ms. Chancellor (May her soul rest in peace) and Victor Newman will always have a special (and inappropriate) place in my heart. But I had a bigger problem to address. It started out as a fast from television in general. After some deep reflection I realized that I had been using TV as a vice and a crutch. A rabbit hole that I would dive into to avoid things I didn't want to deal with or think about (or do). I could almost directly tie any bout with high anxiety to a bingewatching session. After putting the kids to bed, I would fire up the old iPad like clockwork. And stare at the screen until I successfully drowned out anything I didn't want to think about. So after a month of cutting out all television and replacing it with something that I felt was a bit more productive (i.e. catching up on reading, journaling, prepping for the next day etc.) I emerged a bit prettier and prepared to indulge occasionally and in moderation. I still have lots of FOMO (Blackish, Scandal, Big Little Lies, reruns of Sex and The City, all casualties), but am in a much better place now that I feel like I have some control over the situation...

Now that we've gotten that Soap Box Moment out of the way..

Currently Reading

Fervent by Priscilla Shirer the Womans Battle Plan to Serious, Specific, and Strategic Prayer is just like it sounds. I've read this and am rereading and using it as a daily devotional during my quiet prayer time.

Currently Watching

Schitts Creek is hilarious! If you liked Arrested Development, you will love this (apparently Canadian) sitcom created by Eugene Levy (the dad from American Pie) and his Son Dan Levy. I could not stop cackling at this riches to rags family struggling through a new way of life in a new city called Schitt's Creek:-) On Netflix

Call the Midwife, set in the 50's in 60's, this BBC period drama follows the lives of a group of midwives working in the poverty stricken East End of London. I love a British accent. It feels fresh and smart (who are you to judge??). And I will allow myself brief bingeing sessions, only while doing epic piles of laundry. On Netflix

The Golden Girls. Obviously. On Hulu

Currently Listening To

The Daily. Can I say, I love a "Less than 30 minute" Podcast? I hit play as soon as I let the kiddos out at carpool and get 20 minutes of a concise news update powered by the New York Times... Not long enough to hurl you into a deep depression from the current state of political affairs but just enough to keep you abreast of what's going on in the world. ...And Michael Barbaro's voice is so soothing.

UnCivil is a new history podcast recently recommended to me by one of my besties who described it as the juicy details (and lies told) about the Civil War. Just in time to replace one of my faves, Malcom Gladwell's Revisionist History podcast now on hiatus I've got this one all cued up for my next road trip.

The Elevation Church Podcast. Seriously, this pastor must be reading my journal because his messages always seem to be speaking directly to my heart and insecurities and struggles. I'd definitely be a member of this church if I lived in Charlotte. In the mean time, I might be just a little obsessed.

Oprahs Soul Sunday Just the (recurring) pep talk I need to keep convincing myself that there is still time left to be an awesome parent, form good habits, conquer all my fears and take over the world (all while living my best life). #AllHailQueenOprah. And just because you can never have too much Oprah...

you have to listen to Making Oprah is a must hear podcast if you grew up watching The Oprah Show! YOU GET A CAR! YOU GET A CAR! YOU GET A CAR!!

Okay! That's all I got. Please send recommendations!

xxBH


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
RECENT POSTS
bottom of page